The House Oversight and Reform Committee announced the leadership and membership of its subcommittees on Tuesday, with Rep. Gerry Connolly, D-Va., as chairman of the Subcommittee on Government Operations, which will handle Federal IT oversight duties. Rep. Mark Meadows, R-N.C., will service as the subcommittee’s ranking member.

Connolly, who has sponsored numerous pieces of Federal IT legislation and is chair of MeriTalk’s FITARA Awards, has said that Federal IT issues will be a priority for the subcommittee. Earlier this year, Connolly previewed an effort to revamp the Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP).

Also joining the subcommittee is Rep. Ro Khanna, D-Calif. He represents Silicon Valley and has been involved in major tech policy issues on Capitol Hill including privacy policy discussions and increasing access to internet services. He sponsored the 21st Century IDEA Act, signed into law in December, which will bring major changes to Federal websites. As a member of the subcommittee, Khanna will be responsible for overseeing the implementation of the bill.

Meadows, who chaired the Government Operations subcommittee during the last session of Congress, returns as ranking member for the Republicans. The congressman has been a strong advocate for the Modernizing Government Technology (MGT) Act, and offered his support for the law during the committee’s most recent hearing on the Federal IT Acquisition and Reform Act (FITARA) Scorecard.

“I am committed to making sure the resources are there that rewards the fine work that some of you are putting forth,” Meadows said regarding Federal agency CIOs during the December 2018 hearing.

The full roster for the Democrats on the subcommittee includes:

  • Connolly
  • Khanna
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton (D.C.)
  • John P. Sarbanes (Md.)
  • Jackie Speier (Calif.)
  • Stacey Plaskett (U.S.V.I.)
  • Stephen Lynch (Mass.)
  • Jamie Raskin (Md.)

On the Republican side, the subcommittee members are:

  • Meadows
  • Thomas Massie (Ky.)
  • Jody Hice (Ga.)
  • Glenn Grothman (Wis.)
  • James Comer (Ky.)
  • Ralph Norman (S.C.)
  • Greg Steube (Fla.)
Read More About
More Topics