The House Homeland Security Committee approved legislation on Sept. 25 a cyber committee within the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA).

The legislation, introduced by John Katko, R-N.Y., Dan Newhouse, R-Wash., Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Pa., and Dan Lipinski, D-Ill., would create a Chief Information Security Officer Advisory Committee (CSAC) with CISA which would “advise, consult with, report to, and make recommendations to the Director of Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security on the development, refinement, and implementation of policies, programs, rulemakings, planning, training, and security directives pertaining to the mission of [CISA].”

Katko said the committee will “ensure a more holistic and wide-ranging approach is taken to addressing cybersecurity threats.”

If enacted, the Director of Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security – currently Chris Krebs – would have 180 days to appoint members of the committee. According to the legislation, the committee makeup must be no more than 35 representatives from state and local governments and the private sector. The committee is required to meet at least quarterly, though the legislation notes that additional meetings may be called at any time.

“It is essential that CISA stays ahead of cyberthreats that are evolving by the day.” Homeland Security Committee Ranking Member Mike Rogers, R-Ala, said.“The Cybersecurity Advisory Committee Authorization Act ensures that CISA hears from an array of viewpoints about emerging cyberthreats by establishing an advisory committee of state and local government and industries leaders.”

Read More About
More Topics
Kate Polit
Kate Polit
Kate Polit is MeriTalk's Assistant Copy & Production Editor covering the intersection of government and technology.